Wrong MC4 connectors on AC50S or 120W Solar panel

I recently received my AC50S and Bluetti 120W solar panel. Unfortunately, I’m unable to connect them because they put the wrong connectors on them. The positive connectors are both male and both negative connectors are female. Anyone else run into this issue?

I think you are confusing what is positive and negative on the connectors. Unless you have checked with a meter and verified that the positive and negative are not correct, just snap them together the way they will connect and you will be fine.

I figured the the “+” and “-“ symbols on the connectors would be a clear way to identify positive and negative but I suppose that could be incorrect as I’m not an expert. Is Bluetti going to honor my warranty if something goes wrong when I plug the “+” cable into the the “-“ and vice versa?
image0.jpeg

-Aaron

The female connector coming from the panel is the positive connector. It would be impossible for all of the males to be positive because they could never connect to a female connector. Coming from the panel the female connectors a positive and the male connectors are negative

1 Like

I understand it would not work if all the positive connectors were male. I was just hoping to confirm something didn’t get done incorrectly during manufacturing. I’m not an electrician and I’m new to solar so when I read the Bluetti manual and it warned against connecting them incorrectly I quickly grew concerned. Sounds like Bluetti didn’t use properly marked MC4 connectors this time around. However, before potentially destroying two expensive devices, I was looking clarification. Thank you for your assistance.

Here is clarification…The connectors are installed properly. The connector can be positive or negative and polarity is not gender specific

1 Like

Thank you again for your help. I will hook up the panels as you suggest. I’m looking forward to testing the devices.

Just curious how that turned out for you @chairborne33