Simple question from a simple AC200P owner

Should I charge my Bluetti and leave it at 100% or a little less. If I do not plan to use it for a few weeks. Thanks

Also can I hook the (4) 180 watt panels in 2 series and 2 series and then parallel the 2 and 2?

i’ve read it’s better for the lifepo4 battery to be charged around 80% and not topped off.
I am no expert and learning myself, but it seems to be the consensus.

https://understandsolar.com/solar-panels-in-series-vs-parallel/

Thank you. Makes sense. Our Prius Prime is the same way. We try to keep it between 60 an 80 %

1 Like

Hello Shawn,

I am hooking up 4, 180 panels to an ac200 and getting about 510 watts on a sunny New England winter day. The series / parallel wiring you mention is what I am using and it helps to negate the shading issues that I have in my location. I think this has worked out best for my particular situation.

Best,
D

Great to hear from you. That is what I will be doing too. Down here in Palm Springs. Always sun here. Good luck. James

Great Shawn,

One thing I want to mention is that with this panel wiring configuration, the amps in the two series strings when paralleled are doubled which ends up being more than the 12 amps that ac200 will accept. The ac200,s limit the pv input amps to 12 amps (actually 11.9 amps on my unit) so there is a bit more amperage coming in than the ac200 is designed for. I noticed that the stock wires on the aviation pv input plug are thin and get a little warm when a lot of current is coming in and frankly, this amperage resistance concerns me so I’m building a new aviation pv input plug using that AWG 10 wire which I hope cools thing down.
Just wanted to mention this so you can keep an eye on the temp of that wire for the stock aviation pv input plug. I would be curious to hear what Scott-Benson’s thoughts are on the extra pv amperage and how it may or may not affect the ac200’s,

Take care,

D