Should I fully discharge upon receipt

Just received my EB3A. On the AC200Max and other ‘big boy’ forums many recommend initially discharging to ‘zero’ state of charge (knowing that the firmware does not let the battery fully go zero). Should this be also done on the EB3A?

2 Likes

I charge mine to 100% then discharge to 0% then back to 100%. I would assume that might calibrate the BMS.

2 Likes

I charge all my new units to 100% first followed by a complete battery drain to an indicated state of charge of 0% followed by a complete recharge.

2 Likes

Thank you. I have now done this.

Newbie here. Why? What is the purpose of charge 100% down to 0% then back up to 100%

Thanks, Kenn

Supposedly to calibrate the battery management system so that 0 is actually 0% and 100 is actually 100%. I like to run mine down to 0 and then recharge to 100% but I think it just makes me feel better.

Thanks. I got mine today, upgraded the firmware and charged to 100%. on the way down now. I just wondered. Appreciate the reply.

Kenn

Would be nice if Bluetti gave such advise.

Probably not to worry about. Just would only use 1 cycle out of several thousand still available. The advantage of LIFEPO4 batteries.

I would expect, that the BMS was calibrated at the factory and then discharged to shipping perecentage (60%)

If the meter is showing zero but still running your appliance, then you would know BMS wasn’t calibrated. You then get your calibration without needing to do so manually.

If required, then I would assume the same logic would have to be used on every lithium LIFEPO4 battery you buy. I stand corrected, but I never read this from any manufacture of these batteries.

What say Bluetti, is it necessary?

1 Like

Got this from a FAQ in a Bluetti advertisement for the EB200:

Q4: Why should I deplete the battery first and recharge it to 100% when I receive the new product?