Problems with Charging AC200 with Solar

Hello,

I am a noob when it comes to solar, so any advice/help would be appreciated. I just received the AC200 that I purchased on Indiegogo. Along with this purchase, I purchased 4 180 Watt solar panels from Bougerv. Today was my first day to test it out to see how things went. With the 4 solar panels, I would say that my average input watts was around 100. I put them out around 10:00 in the morning and checked the reading several times until around 5:00 in the afternoon. The highest input watts was around 200. Am I doing something wrong? Is there something wrong with the AC200 or is there something wrong with my solar panels? I just don’t get how 4 180 Watt Solar panels averages around 100 watts of input. Again, any advice/help would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks

Would need a little more information from you to give you better advice. Such as how are the panels connected? Series, parrallel, combination? Panel orientation…flat on the ground, angled, pointed in the direction of the sun etc? What was the sunlight condition? Cloudy, full sun, you didn’t have them set up indoors getting sun through the glass right?

If you did not have the panels pointed directly at the sun with full clear sun, the power you receive will drop dramatically. Clouds going over will also have a big effect. I am assuming you are connecting in series so I would do the following: 1-Connect two in pairs and record the input. Then connect the other two in pairs and record the input. If one of the pairs is dramatically different from the other pairs you may have one bad panel. You can swap out panels until you determine which one is bad if at all. My guess at this time is that the sunlight you were receiving was not full sun and the panels were not aligned optimally. If the panels also received any shade even on one panel this will have a big effect on output as well.

2 Likes