EB70S Parallel Solar Panels?

Total newbie to Bluetti products here, I just ordered an EB70S and the PV200 to charge it. Looking into the specs, I see that I have a 200W maximum input - but is this maximum for the unit in terms of charge rate, or is this maximum possible attached without something exploding?

My initial intent was to parallel connect the PV200 and my Jackery 100w so that I could actually be getting the full 200W to the unit under less than ideal conditions, but is attaching 300w worth of panels on the 200w maximum input going to let out the magic smoke when the sun comes out from behind the clouds? Or will it just use only what it needs? I’d think that excess amperage just won’t be used by the charge controller, but this is a rather expensive piece of kit to risk on a guess.

2 Likes

You can exceed the maximum power going into the unit, so you are correct you can exceed the amps but NOT the voltage. This is done all the time and is called overpanelling. I’m running 975W into my AC200MAX even though the maximum it can use is 900W.

However, do note, if you mix different panels in parallel the amps will get added but the voltage will max out at the LOWEST max voltage of either panel.

This means that the panel with the lowest open circuit voltage will control the max power output and, as such, you may not actually get 300W max even though you have a 200W + 100W.

This is why it’s usually better to use all the same types of panels.

3 Likes

Ah! Thank you very much. I didn’t know about the voltage dropping to the lowest, I figured it would end up somewhere in the middle, as the higher voltage panel boosted the average in the parallel set. I’ll have to test it out and see how its real-world performance is!