Bluetti SP200 portable panel vs Renogy 200 watt fixed panel

Tested with a Bluetti EB55 which has a 200 watt max solar input. Solar conditions were pretty good with no clouds but had a slight marine haze. Using my solar rack all the panels were aimed at the sun exactly the same.

1 panel - Bluetti 134 watts, Renogy 153 watts.

2 panels in parallel - Bluetti 161 watts, Renogy 174 watts.

The panels had been out in the sun for several hours before testing so they should have been stabilized temperature wise. With an air temp of around 70 degrees the face of Bluetti panel was at 136 degrees and the Renogy was at 112 degrees. I’m guessing the Bluetti’s run hotter due to the black fabric holding them together on the back which might reduce cooling.

A question for the experts, would 24 degrees of temperature difference make that big of a difference in wattage?

3 Likes

@eric102 im not an expert by any means man but yea I have heard that temperature does play a big role in output power… now 24 degrees having that big of a difference?? I’m not sure.

Maybe try this same test again but try bringing out the 2nd panel/set out later, after the 1st panels have heated up and see what your results are??

This is a fantastic test and an incredible setup you’ve got going man! I love it and am really eager myself to see what results you come up with!!

Thanks for sharing bud!

2 Likes

I think your limiting factor here is with the EB55 used as a receiver. The incoming wattage of the EB55 is limited to approx. 160 watts due to design and voltage / amperage limits. If you were connecting the panels in series and using an AC200 series I think you would see a big improvement in wattage.

2 Likes

Yeah I was going to try that with my EB150 today since it can do both a single panel and 2 panels in series. Will also test 2 panels on the AC200P but the displayed wattage on it fluctuates quite a bit so its hard to get a good reading.