Backup Battery for AC200P

Hi all.

I’m new to the whole solar & battery thing, so please be kind. :slight_smile:

I have the AC200P which I charge with solar. During an extended weather event where solar can’t charge the AC200P, I was thinking of buying 12V 100Ah lithium iron phosphate battery to charge the AC200P. I understand it would be slow, but it would be better than nothing.

The manual specifically states the AC200P can be charged using a "lead acid “battery”. Does this mean I can only use “lead acid” and cannot use “lithium iron phosphate”?

Thanks,
Ron

1 Like

12V LiFePO4 battery would work to charge the AC200p, you would input it as a car charger but it will not charge very fast, only around 100W. Alternatively, can get the DC enhancer and it would charge it faster by boosting the input voltage.

You can use any source as long as the voltage is within the acceptable range. If I were going to do what you want to do, I would suggest a 24 volt battery since it will charge your AC200P at double the rate of a 12 volt battery.

You also have the option of getting a 24 volt battery and charging at a rate of around watts and then getting the DO50S voltage enhancer, connecting it to the same battery and then use the output of that to connect to your AC200P charging brick input port. With this setup you can see a little better than a 400 watt charge rate. It is my understanding that the DC enhancer connected to a 12 volt source will not output more than around 100 watts / hence the improvement with the 24 volt battery.

To have a simple work around, you can also get an AC inverter, connect it to your battery and charge via AC to your AC200P

1 Like

I appreciate the replies so far. I’ll purchase a “12V LiFePO4” battery as backup to solar to charge my AC200P when weather is bad.