B230 discharging much faster than AC200Max

I have one B230 connected to an AC200Max, which I’ve been running for ~2 years. The manual states that the discharging sequence will pull alternately from B230 or AC200Max depending on which has higher charge, to keep all batteries at about the same charge level – but I’m no longer seeing this equalization occur.

• In the past few months the B230 has been discharging much faster than AC200Max:
    After a few hours of no solar (at night), I might see AC200Max at 60% , and B230 at 30%.
  • Obviously, this 30% difference is problematic and shouldn’t occur (per the manual) : the AC200Max is supposed to discharge from its internal battery instead, when the B230 charge level gets much lower than the internal battery. This doesn’t seem to be occurring.
  • They both charge to 100% each day using solar, and discharge each night to an average ~30%.

1) Why would the B230 drop so much more than AC200Max, when they both start from 100%, given that the firmware is supposed to pull from the higher-% battery to keep them all approximately equalized?
2) How can I fix this?

I would suspect that the BMS is misinterpreting the battery voltage vs charge status. I know that on my AC300 with 4 batteries (purchased at different times) two of the more recently purchased batteries read differently than the original 2. What I need to do, and perhaps you as well, is completely discharge the entire system with a constant load (I’d be using a 1500 watt heater) until the system turns off. Now the system knows the 0% point of the batteries. Then, after waiting to allow the system to cool for a while, recharge the system at a constant rate with no load applied until completely full. Now the system knows the 100% point. It should now show the actual battery condition and you will see if it performs normally.

1 Like