AC300 tripping Arc Fault (AFCI) breaker

Have AC300 connected to 10 circuit manual transfer switch and 9 of the breakers are working with no problem but the only one that is a 15 amp Arc Fault (AFCI) breaker trips immediately when I switch over to the AC300. Have had electricians over to replace breaker but new one does the same and they did a complete check of the circuit and tried it with a regular breaker and it works fine. Put the Arc Fault breaker back and keeps tripping. By law, I must have the Arc Fault breaker for all bedrooms so I can’t change it.

Anyone else have this problem?

Yes, my ARC breakers often trip when switching the transfer switch. This is actually pretty common with a standard transfer switch… they make specialized ones for ARC and GFCI breakers.

Also be sure to check out this thread.

Thanks for the reply and I’ll check the other thread.

Disclaimer, I am not a licensed electrician.

What I suspect is that the AFCI in your panel is tripping because when supplied by the manual transfer switch (is it like a reliance TransPro?) the current supply only is supplied by the breaker there, and the return goes through the existing AFCI causing a current imbalance in the AFCI breaker. I believe some(all?) AFCI’s trip under this condition. perhaps an electrician or engineer could chime in…

BTW… If i’m correct this same thing would occur if an AFCI was put into the transfer switch to supply the circuit. in either case supply is from the breaker in he transfer switch, and return goes the existing AFCI in your panel

Gregory,

Thank you for responding!

I have had discussions this morning with Reliance Controls, the maker of the older ProTran and newer ProTran2 manual transfer switches. I have the older ProTran transfer switch.