AC300 RFI experiences

Greetings, I wanted to share my experience with radio interference (RFI) issues emitted by the AC300’s inverter and MPPT charge controller (which is working fine as far as its PV-related work is concerned), in case anyone (I think few…) is interested in the topic.

Here is a link to a page with a brief description of the work performed to resolve the problem .

AC300 RFI

4 Likes

Thanks that was useful. KI6LUY

@Ferruccio Thank you so much for sharing this! This will be helpful for BLUETTI AC300 users :)

Thanks for your work to try to cure the problem. One of the websites you link to that comments about the RFI problem, grouchyfarmer, is my blog. In my case I’m using an AC3200Max, but I’ve had exactly the same issues you’ve experienced. I’m an amateur radio operator also and thought I might use the Ac200Max as a power source for things like Field Day, etc. but the RFI issue put an end to that idea. That’s too bad because the AC200Max would have let me operate out in the wilds without a gas generator for a whole day or more.

One thing that did help was not connecting equipment directly to the AC200Max. I now use it to power the house’s electrical service through a manual transfer switch. Running it through the house’s wiring seems to help to filter out or suppress the worst of the RFI in some HF frequencies.

The response I got back from Bluetti indicates that they are aware of the situation but there really isn’t much they can do about it at this point.

Thanks for the comment, unfortunately the RFI problem is not much considered, not least because this means higher equipment production costs (and amateur radio operators are always a minority).

I remember about 30 years ago when I started ham radio, there were very few interference problems, now fate is sealed and it will be increasingly difficult to try to clean up the frequencies…

Thank you, very useful information. KC3VGH