AC200p car charging help

Solar newbie here. Received AC200p last week and testing it out. Brick shows charging at 365 watts. Solar charging with 2 100w portable rockpals in series producing 10 watts on very cloudy day. AC200p showing average input voltage @around 44volts. At this voltage the AC200 wont accept a charge sometimes . Shows 0 watts in. Apparently after talking to tech support, The minimum is more like 50 volts to work good not the 35 stated in the literature. My issue is I tried to use the car charger and the wall charger at the same. Had the setting switched to car. It wouldn’t charge. After about 2 hours of trouble shooting found a blown fuse in the car charger cable. I don’t know if I blew the fuse and if so why, or did the cable come pre blown ? Wondering if any one has had similar issue. As I will be charging my unit while overlanding on the road. Thanks for any comments.

1 Like

Regarding the car charger blow fuse…did you have the AC200 selected to “CAR” before plugging in? Correct mode needs to be selected and you have to have a car charge port capable of outputting the necessary amperage requirements (12).

Regarding the voltage required to charge via solar…35 is the minimum required voltage to begin charging. In reality the charging will begin slightly lower than that. 44 volts is plenty. What you don’t have is sun and amperage. I am pretty sure if you have good strong clear sun with your panels pointed and angled directly at the sun and have 35 or more volts, you will see a charge. The panels will produce volts (electrical pressure) with almost no watts in low light situations. Give it another try when you have a sunny day (Solar = Sun)

Yikes, I have been evaluating new panels based on the 35v. I think accurate specs are imperative. Thank you forcsharing your experience. I’ve had my AC200P less than a week.

1 Like