AC200 Solar charging

Hi All, trying to get my AC200 charged with single panel and all I see is about 22.5 Input Voltage and 0 input current 0 input power. Tried a different panel same result, tested in all levels of sun, same deal voltage goes up or down with sun but no current, anyone experiencing the same, Do I have a defect? Thanks!

Read the manual. 35volts input minimum before it will accept a charge. I purchased this also before realizing. Have 2 sets of rockpals 100w portable in series producing 44volts and is accepting a charge. I’m new to solar and just learning

3 Likes

Added 2nd, then 3rd panel and it starts to charge but then trips again on low voltage fault even though it reads 70V (?) Read the manual didn’t see any other info except that it should be plug and play…
Any help appreciated. Thanks

Played with it some more, looks like you have to be under 90% charged for PV charge to work. Discharged to 88% and now charging, will see if it cuts out again at 90%

1 Like

Good to know. I really don’t know that much about it I’m new at this
. Put a new fuse in my car charger and its working now. Drove to REI and back charging at 114 watts while on the road. Will probably work for my application. My unit seems to be working good. I do have those temps all over the place like others have stated. Don’t think that will really affect me. Just using it for Overlanding

Investigating further, I think my issue was not the charge capacity, the solar charging did not cut out again after 90% charge. I looked at the faults and it was tripping on high temperature. Not sure why, it could have been the unit was in the sun, and when I repositioned the AC200 with when moving things around to connect 3 panels, it was then out of the sun. Weird. I would not think a little heat from the sun should not disable solar charging.

1 Like