Newbie here. eb55 tech question

Hello there !

I just have a newbie tech question about my newly bought eb55.

I have 2pcs 120w panels in parallel for input.
The conditions for panels aren’t ideal here where in installing them, so I’m getting at most 150w out of them. So i normally charge or run things with both the panels and the regular wall socket.

Here’s my question.

When I’m getting let’s say 200w combined from the PV and the wall outlet, and then plugging in my E-scooter battery charger to the eb55, the input drops dramatically to 120-130w. If i unplug the charger, it goes straight back up to 200w. The E-scooter charging takes 220-230w.

Can anyone explain this to me ?
I’m getting so little from the PVs so the eb55 is drained in about 2-3h (from fully charged).

I would be very happy and greatful if i can get a explanation from someone with the knowledge that I’m lacking.

Br, Ken

I can explain one part. The highest solar input you will ever see on the EB55 is around 165 watts in any combination of the panels. This is due to the 8 amp input limit of the EB55. There is simply no panel combination running at 8 amps that will allow the 200 watt solar input limit.

I am assuming you are saying when you have the AC power brick (195 watts) connected and plugged into a wall outlet and also have solar input connected that your input drops. That makes no sense to me because you should always see the AC charging brick 195 watts even with no PV installed. A couple of pics of your screen during the different operations you describe would be helpful to assist with this.

1 Like

hi !

thx for replying.

yes, it is really weird.

i never got even 155w from the 2x120w panels in paralell. but again, the location and angle is far from ideal. hence the choice to go for 2x120 instead of a 200w panel.

i tried several times. under identical conditions. the same thing happens every time. it is very consisent this occurance.

i will get some pics asap.

br, Ken