How is the USB-C output wired inside EB3A, and what PD protocols does it support?

Hello,

I’m trying to figure out the most efficient path to get to a 12…15V variable voltage output from my new (not even arrived yet) EB3A. The product specs list an AC output, 12V-10A DC from a couple of different plugs, 5V-3A from USB-A and a slightly mysterious USB-C option that is supposed to provide up to 100W of power and be able to charge a laptop, which I interpret as 20V-5A.

Now, since the underlying batteries are nominally 22.4V, it would seem best to go from that straight to USB-C and, through the modern wonder that is Power Delivery, request whatever voltage I need between 12V and 15V from there. Or, if granular voltage control is not supported in the PD implementation inside the power bank, get 20V and step down to what I need (assuming that stepping down is more efficient than boosting up – I’m not an electrical engineer, by the way, so correct me where I go astray). But if the whole DC portion of EB3A, including PD, is wired through 12V, then going through PD wouldn’t provide any efficiency benefit. Hence the question in the title: How is the USB-C output wired inside EB3A, and what PD protocols does it support?

If we get to the bottom of this, I think the information gleaned would be a great fit in the specifications documentation of the device.

Thanks!

1 Like

Inside the EB3A the USB-C DC/DC is supposedly a buck step-down non-isolated converter. The 12/13 V cigarette plug supply and PD supply are located into 2 separate rails on the battery bus.
The USB-C being advertised as 100 W is at least PD so you should select its 5/9/12/15/20 V output voltage by using an adapter that supports the protocol.