AC200L + B230 Dual solar & alternator van charging

Newbie here. I have minimal experience with electricity so forgive my lack of knowledge. However, I’m looking for some guidance.

I am building out a camper van and would like to have a setup where I can charge my connected AC200L & B230 with both solar and alternator without having to climb into the back of the van to unplug and plug the DC input cables before driving. I’ve seen somewhat similar questions regarding dual-charging Bluetti products and it seems that with AC200L it’s tricky/technical to set up solar charging while simultaneously charging from the alternator while the van is running.

My thought, which I would love some expert opinion on is to run solar power to the AC200L unit and then connect the B230 to a Victron Energy Orion-Tr 48/12-30A (360W) Isolated DC-DC Converter that is connecting to the car battery of the Ford Transit.

My thought process is that the alternator would charge the B230 as needed and the solar panels would charge the AC200L. Then I don’t need to worry about a complicated setup of dual charging the AC200L.

Thank you for your help!

1 Like

If you would like to charge both the AC200L and B230 simultaneously by using the two separate solar and alternator sources you could connect your solar grid to the AC200L and use a D050S to charge your B230 by the car alternator. That will remove the complexity of wiring a DC/DC converter.
Your only concern will be to connect the van’s 12V system to the D050S via a relay that switches off when the engine is turned off, to avoid drawing current from the 12V battery when the alternator is not running. If you have a cigarette lighter socket that switches off when the van is turned off, you can use that to power the D050S without having to wire anything.
Solar panels → AC200L
Cigarette socket → D050S → B230