AC180 Solar Charging

G’day.
I’m totally new to all this…but willing to learn!
Im seriously interested in buying a ac180 but need to know whether I’m able to connect my Ridge Ryder 200 watt Solar blanket to the ac180.
My solar blanket has Anderson Plug Connections and not the MC4 connectors. The ac180 comes with a MC4 solar cable.

My question is;

1. Does Bluetti have a solar cable with a anderson connector?
  2. Is it safe and possible to change the MC4 connector on the cable to a anderson plug connector??

Every bit of help is appreciated. Thanks.
Kurt

Hi Kurt, you will need the correct polarity Anderson to MC4 adaptors (Bluetti do not sell these) and bypass any solar controller on your panels as the AC180 has its own built-in MPPT controller. Maximum OCV/VOC for the 180 is 60 volts. If you are in Australia I can post some links which may assist you.

1 Like

Thank you very much for the info. I’d wish Bluetti would sell the cables with anderson plug as lots of folks here in australia use anderson connections.
I would appreciate the links you mentioned, Thanks, Kurt

These are the correct adaptors:

https://www.anacondastores.com/camping-hiking/power-cooling/solar/itech-mc4-to-anderson-plug-ecoflow-adaptor/90173902

Also, feel free to join the official Bluetti Australia Users Group:

I help out there and I’m very happy to assist you further if required.

1 Like

Hey @Kurt, I’m in Europe. I had a solar panel without connectors; just cables coming out. It’s a second-hand panel. I just got a pair of MC4 connectors and put them on. I’m not really a DIY person, but It was fairly easy and there are various online tutorials on how to do it.

So I think it would be an option also to cut off the Anderson connectors on your panel and replace them with MC4 connectors.